TypeConPresented by the Society of Typographic Aficionados
Archive / Awards

Typography Award Presented to Gerard Unger

The Society of Typographic Aficionados (SOTA) has announced that Dutch type designer, author, and educator Gerard Unger has been honored with the 2009 SOTA Typography Award. The presentation took place on Friday, July 17, 2009, at the Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead, as part of TypeCon2009. The 67-year-old Unger of Bussum, The Netherlands is the …

Read more

SOTA Honors Gerrit Noordzij in Den Haag

SOTA Honors Gerrit Noordzij in Den Haag Members of the Society of Typographic Aficionados traveled to Den Haag (The Hague) in The Netherlands to honor the great Dutch designer Gerrit Noordzij, winner of the 2008 SOTA Typography Award. SOTA chairman, James Grieshaber, presented the award to Mr. Noordzij on March 6th during a three day typographic event held at the Koninklijke Academie …

Read more

What We Did Last Summer: SOTA Takes a Trip to Meet Adrian Frutiger

The SOTA Typography Award, presented each year since 2003, found its recipient for 2006 in the great Swiss designer, Adrian Frutiger. Mr Frutiger is a type designer par excellence, with the famous typefaces Univers, Frutiger, Avenir, and many others to his name. Remarkably he is still at work, helping Linotype rework and extend his designs …

Read more